Notes from Kosovo- Day # 4

Women for Women UK Major Gifts Officer Nora Russell traveled to Kosovo in June. She has written about her experiences and the women she met. This part 4 of 4 in her series. 

Day 4 – Thursday 24th

Our final day, and it feels like we have been here so much longer – everyone has been so accommodating and welcoming and the group are tired but also so happy to have met the women they sponsor. Our last trip before dashing to the airport is to visit a vocational skills class which is a mixed group of women from many different communities Albanian, Ashkali and Egyptian. I meet Igballe Behluli who recites a poem she has written about her schooling and leaves us with these words;

‘The End of Primary School’

At the end of primary school I received a message,

They are stopping me from going to school.

I was very sad, I started to cry.

The books and school bench was awash with my tears.

Walking down the road I tore up my notebooks in frustration.

I didn’t deserve this.

But truthfully, my father did not do this on purpose.

It was the war and there was poison in every school.

Now I am happy, my dream is fulfilled.

My children go free to school.

1 Comment

Filed under Kosovo

One response to “Notes from Kosovo- Day # 4

  1. 42 Crestwood Mews, Allendale, N.J. 07401

    Thank you for your report on Rwanda which is so encouraging that women are being brought into the life of the country and given opportunities for education.
    Would you please send me the name of the woman in Iraq that I have been assigned to so that I can send her a letter and give her encouragement.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

